Section Spatulata

The section Spatulata includes about 50 species distributed from the Philippines and Java to north Australia and the islands of the Pacific, as far to the east as Samoa. New Guinea and its nearby islands have about 30 species and are clearly the center of distribution.

This is a section predominantly of the humid tropical lowlands in year-round high rainfall conditions, mostly near the coast and often growing on trees. Exceptions to this occur in northern Australia and southern New Guinea, where a related group of four species has adapted to the strongly seasonal conditions and thrives in climates with a pronounced dry season. Another group of six has adapted to the cooler conditions of the New Guinea highlands at altitudes up to 1800 m.

Pseudobulbs are usually long, with 2 ranks of leaves along most of the stem. The dry season adapted species mostly have shorter, more compact pseudobulbs. The flowers are produced on 1 or more long, multi-flowered racemes from the apical nodes. They are widely opening, long-lasting and most have twisted petals and sepals a 3-lobed lip with 3 or more keels along the mid-lobe. There is usually a prominent mentum. (Lavarack et. al 2006).

The following are the species bellowing to the Section Spatulata:

Den. antennatum Den. bicaudatum Den. canaliculatum Den. carronii Den. cochliodes Den. conanthum Den. crispilinguum Den. discolor Den. gouldii Den. hamiferum Den. helix Den. johannis Den. lasianthera Den. lineale Den. macranthum Den. magistratus Den. mirbelianum Den. nindii Den. stratiotes Den. strebloceras Den. strepsiceros Den. sylvanum Den. tangerinum Den. taurinum Den. trilamellatum Den. wulaiense